Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about About State by State Debt Recovery and other Collection Agency topics.
Following is some important information on Tennessee state debt collection laws including: Tennessee Statutes, Tennessee Judgments, Tennessee Garnishments, Tennessee Interest Rates, Tennessee Bad Check Laws and Tennessee Collection Agency Requirements.
Judgment: 10% (or contract rate) (varies with type of transaction)
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct.: 6
Written Contract: 6
Domestic Judgment: 10
Foreign Judgment: 10
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Treble damages up to $500 + 10% interest & reasonable service charges, atty.'s fees, & court costs.
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
See federal law. Add $2.50 per wk. for dependent child under 16.
COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE
$15,000 1-4 employee
$20,000 5-9 employee
$25,000 10 or more
$600 - Original
$350 - Renewal
$25 - Each Solicitor
Exemption for out-of-state collectors: Contact state licensing authority. Out-of-state agencies may be exempt if they  maintain office in another state;  resides in a state that provides reciprocity; and  comply with provisions of licensing.
It's just about sport
most physical sport
history of racism in sport
jet ski sport cruiser
I just got off the phone with the licensing board and they said there were absolutely NO exemptions to out of state agencies. We still had to have a licensed location manager located in our office. No reciprocity allowances. Does anyone have anything I can use to get around the licensing issue...I don't have a problem registering or whatever other reasonable hoops they may have, but we have only a handful of debtors that are in TN and it just doesn't warrant going thru the BS they want us to do.