Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

California Collection Agency Laws

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about About State by State Debt Recovery and other Collection Agency topics.

What are California's state debt collection laws?

California Collection Agency Laws

Following is some important information on California debt recovery laws including: California Statute of Limitations, California Judgments, California Garnishments, California Interest Rates, California Bad Check Laws and California Collection Agency Requirements.

INTEREST RATE
Legal: 10%
Judgment: 10% (Unless otherwise contracted)

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct.: Reduced to writing-4
Open Acct.: No writing-2
Written Contract: 4
Domestic Judgment: 10 (renewable at 10)
Foreign Judgment: 10 (commencing with judgment debtor's commencement of CA. residence.)

BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Amount due, treble damages - minimum $100 maximum $1500 per check.

GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
See federal law. Exemptions for necessaries of life.

COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE
No license or bond required.

   

Comments

4/30/2007 11:50:46 AM
California Collection Agencies said:

Good information.


10/8/2009 10:37:49 PM
Christina said:

This information is well laid out and therefore very useful. It systematically walks the reader into what they might want to know and gives clues and links of looking deeper into a subject. I am interested in starting an agency and this is like a little "executive summary" on the subject. Nice stuff. Thanks.




Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Collection Agency Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
Christina Chan