Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

New Jersey Collection Agency Laws

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about About State by State Debt Recovery and other Collection Agency topics.

What are New Jersey's state debt collection laws?

New Jersey Collection Agency Laws

Following is some important information on New Jersey debt collection laws including: New Jersey Statutes, New Jersey Judgments, New Jersey Garnishments, New Jersey Interest Rates, New Jersey Bad Check Laws and New Jersey Collection Agency Requirements.

INTEREST RATE
Legal: 6%
Judgment: No Statutory Provision

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct.: 6
Sale of Goods: 4
Written Contract: 6
Domestic Judgment: 20
Foreign Judgment: 20

BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
N/A

GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
$142.50 wk. min. 10% of gross earnings $142.50 & Over

COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE
Bond: $5000 Surety
License: No
Fee: No

   

Comments

7/11/2007 12:40:00 PM
Marlene Rafferty said:

I needed the Laws, not just a miniature listing of the State's fees.


9/24/2007 11:06:09 AM
Confuse said:

Can a company that has not applied for a surety bond still collect?




Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Collection Agency Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
Patricia Walters-Fischer