Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about About State by State Debt Recovery and other Collection Agency topics.
Following is some important information on Michigan debt recovery laws including: Michigan Statutes, Michigan Judgments, Michigan Garnishments, Michigan Interest Rates, Michigan Bad Check Laws and Michigan Collection Agency Requirements.
Judgment: 7.162 changes semiannually
Usury limit 25%
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct.: 6
Written Contract: 6
Sales (UCC) Contract: 4
Domestic Judgment: 10 renewable
Foreign Judgment: 10
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Twice the amount of check-not to exceed $500.
Retail Claims - Notice Requirements.
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS See federal law.
COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE (RETAIL ONLY)
Bond: $5,000 - $50,000
$150 - Investigation
$225 - Initial
$125 - Annually
Exemption for out-of-state collectors: Out-of-state collector are exempt if  collecting by interstate means; and  have no clients in the state of Michigan.