Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

Illinois Collection Agency Laws

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about About State by State Debt Recovery and other Collection Agency topics.

What are Illinois's state debt collection laws?

Illinois Collection Agency Laws

Following is some important information on Illinois debt recovery laws including: Illinois Statutes, Illinois Judgments, Illinois Garnishments, Illinois Interest Rates, Illinois Bad Check Laws and Illinois Collection Agency Requirements.

INTEREST RATE
Legal: 5%
Judgment: 9%

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Sales (UCC): 4
Open Acct.: 5
Written Contract: 10
Domestic Judgment: 20
Foreign Judgment: Same as foreign jurisdiction

BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY) Triple check amount up to $500, attorney fees & court costs.

GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
15% of gross wages or disposable earnings for workweek up to 45 x fed. min. hourly wage, whichever is greater.

COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE
Bond: $25,000
License: Yes
Fee:
$750 - Original
$750 - Renewal
Exemption for out-of-state collectors: Out-of-state collectors may be exempt if [1] not soliciting accounts in Illinois; [2] their state of residence has laws which provide similar reciprocity (allow out-of-state agencies to collect only); and [3] the state in which the non-Illinois agency resides extends the same privileges to out-of-state agencies.

   

Comments

8/30/2007 8:34:31 AM
Marty Courtney said:

It should be noted that Illinois, like Indiana, places the same restrictions on the collection of commercial debt as that of consumer debt. FDCPA applies to both equally.




Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Collection Agency Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
William Pirraglia