Following is some important information on Oregon state statute of limitations including: Oregon Statutes, Oregon Judgments, Oregon Garnishments, Oregon Interest Rates, Oregon Bad Check Laws and Oregon Collection Agency Requirements.
Statutory + Judgment: 9% simple interest per annum (Unless specified by contract)
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct.: 6
Sale of Goods: 6 (4 yrs UCC Transaction)
Written Contract: 6
Domestic Judgment: 10 - Renewable at 10
Foreign Judgment: 10
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Can recover reasonable attorney fees & statutory damages of three times the amount of the NSF check plus$500 if demand letter is sent to debtor 30 days before suit is filed.
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
75% of disposable earnings or 40 x fed. min. hourly wage.
COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE
License: Registration only
Fee: Established by director
Exemption for out-of-state collectors: Contact state authorities. Out-of-state agencies may be exempt if  collecting for out-of-state client;  the debt was incurred by an Oregonian outside the state; and  the state where the collection agency is headquartered has a registration program comparable to Oregon's law.
Now one of the top on-line publishers in the world, LifeTips offers tips to millions of monthly visitors. Our mission mission is to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. Expert writers earn dough for what they know. And exclusive sponsors in each niche topic help us make-it-all happen.
|Sheri Ann Richerson|