Following is some important information on Tennessee state debt collection laws including: Tennessee Statutes, Tennessee Judgments, Tennessee Garnishments, Tennessee Interest Rates, Tennessee Bad Check Laws and Tennessee Collection Agency Requirements.
Judgment: 10% (or contract rate) (varies with type of transaction)
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct.: 6
Written Contract: 6
Domestic Judgment: 10
Foreign Judgment: 10
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Treble damages up to $500 + 10% interest & reasonable service charges, atty.'s fees, & court costs.
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
See federal law. Add $2.50 per wk. for dependent child under 16.
COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE
$15,000 1-4 employee
$20,000 5-9 employee
$25,000 10 or more
$600 - Original
$350 - Renewal
$25 - Each Solicitor
Exemption for out-of-state collectors: Contact state licensing authority. Out-of-state agencies may be exempt if they  maintain office in another state;  resides in a state that provides reciprocity; and  comply with provisions of licensing.
Now one of the top on-line publishers in the world, LifeTips offers tips to millions of monthly visitors. Our mission mission is to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. Expert writers earn dough for what they know. And exclusive sponsors in each niche topic help us make-it-all happen.