Following is some important information on Florida debt recovery laws including: Florida Statutes, Florida Judgments, Florida Garnishments, Florida Interest Rates, Florida Bad Check Laws and Florida Collection Agency Requirements.
Judgment: 10% or up to 18% if contractual
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct.: 4
Written Contract: 5
Domestic Judgment: 7 Renewable
Foreign Judgment: 5 if not recorded instate
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
After 30 day demand-treble amount in addition to amount owed, bank & court costs & reasonable attorney fees.
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
See federal law except 100% head of household.
Liberal Homestead Exemption - 1st $1,000 of automobile
COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE
Bond: Yes - $50,000 (Commercial)
$200 - Registration
$50 - Investigation
$200 - Renewal
Exemption for out-of-state collectors: Registration is required for out-of-state collectors if  soliciting accounts;  if client (creditor, its affiliate or subsidiary) has an office in Florida.
Now one of the top on-line publishers in the world, LifeTips offers tips to millions of monthly visitors. Our mission mission is to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. Expert writers earn dough for what they know. And exclusive sponsors in each niche topic help us make-it-all happen.